South East London Meccano Club https://selmec.org.uk/ Our latest Meccano articles, event reports and models. en-gb Wed, 27 Oct 2021 03:35:26 GMT 60 Leonardo Da Vinci’s Self-Powered Cart https://selmec.org.uk/articles/112-leonardo-da-vinci-s-self-powered-cart

Was this the first car? Here is Alan Wenbourne’s interpretation of a fascinating contraption sketched out by Leonardo da Vinci circa 1478.

]]>
Fri, 15 Oct 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Tractor https://selmec.org.uk/models/2549-tractor

Based on the International Farmall of the war era with full differential and 4-speed gearbox.

]]>
Sat, 09 Oct 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Bulldozer https://selmec.org.uk/models/2550-bulldozer

With live drive to each track and slip clutches with brakes to stall the tracks when turning.

]]>
Sat, 09 Oct 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Combine Harvester https://selmec.org.uk/models/2551-combine-harvester

With cutting head, drive differential, internal threshing drums and straw walkers with sieves all connected and working.

]]>
Sat, 09 Oct 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Asparagus Harvester https://selmec.org.uk/models/2552-asparagus-harvester

]]>
Sat, 09 Oct 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Forklift Truck https://selmec.org.uk/models/2553-forklift-truck

]]>
Sat, 09 Oct 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Lorry Tractor Unit and Low Loader https://selmec.org.uk/models/2554-lorry-tractor-unit-and-low-loader

]]>
Sat, 09 Oct 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Drag Line Excavator https://selmec.org.uk/models/2555-drag-line-excavator

]]>
Sat, 09 Oct 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Garden Sofa https://selmec.org.uk/models/2548-garden-sofa

]]>
Tue, 14 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
September 2021 Meeting https://selmec.org.uk/events/september-2021-meeting

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 20:53:45 GMT
Passenger Cart https://selmec.org.uk/models/2535-passenger-cart

This model was built for the Odd Numbered Parts Only Secretary’s Challenge — fortunately, there are a number of angle girders with odd part numbers, plus the ½” double and reverse angle brackets, the smaller flanged plates, the double-bent strip, and the…

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Tower Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2536-tower-crane

Inspired by the 1970s № 2 set model 2.1 Builder’s Crane, the problem with this challenge was that string (part № 40) is not allowed, nor are sprocket chain or spring cord, making the construction of a crane difficult! I’ve used a (home made) wire hook,…

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Crane Brake https://selmec.org.uk/models/2537-crane-brake

This is quite distinct from my earlier models which put the brake on when power is removed. This one brakes when a forward/reverse control goes into neutral, and is based on a model featured in a 1968 issue of Meccano Magazine.

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Meccangaroo https://selmec.org.uk/models/2538-the-meccangaroo

From the set 4 manual but using odd-numbered parts only. The washers are Elektrikit. It doesn’t work — the armature doesn’t move it.

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Open Top Sports Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2539-open-top-sports-car

Based on the model in Meccano Special Model Leaflet 9.9, but with the body in red parts and the interior in blue plastic parts.

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Tipping Lorry https://selmec.org.uk/models/2540-tipping-lorry

A 1930s left-hand drive US Army vehicle in Meccano Army Green, but based on a model in the blue and gold № 8 outfit manual.

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Table for Two https://selmec.org.uk/models/2541-table-for-two

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Pickup Trucks https://selmec.org.uk/models/2542-pickup-trucks

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
4–6–2 Baltic Tank Locomotive https://selmec.org.uk/models/2543-4-6-2-baltic-tank-locomotive

A Hornby O gauge locomotive made from a picture in the end of a 1930 instruction book, but not covering set 7.

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Morgan ‘Aero’ Three-Wheel Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2544-morgan-aero-three-wheel-car

I saw this model for sale on eBay for £650! The designer/builder was not credited but I was impressed by the prototype features captured at such a small scale. I made a few embellishments and changes — the side vents, double rear wheels, rod connectors…

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Meccanograph https://selmec.org.uk/models/2545-meccanograph

Based on the model in Special Instruction Leaflet № 13 with minor modifications. These include changing the unit from manual to electrical power; changing the wooden drawing platform to one made from two 6” circular plates, separated by four double angle…

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
“Blue Bird V” World Land Speed Record Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2546--blue-bird-v-world-land-speed-record-car

Driven by Malcolm Campbell, this car broke the record for Britain at 301.13 mph on Bonneville Salt Flats, USA, in September 1935. The model is based on one in the 1930s № 6 outfit manual and was built to complement the Golden Arrow, on the assumption…

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Crawler Tracks for Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2547-crawler-tracks-for-crane

Work in progress.

]]>
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Pinnacle Fairground Ride https://selmec.org.uk/models/2534-the-pinnacle-fairground-ride

When I found myself starting to dismantle one of the components parts of my previous model, the Demonizer, on the last day of July 2021, I could not at that moment in time believe I would complete a brand-new model just seven days later. I always have…

]]>
Thu, 26 Aug 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Electric Tractor https://selmec.org.uk/models/2532-electric-tractor

This 9½” long model of an electric tractor uses a geared MO motor and features working steering and a differential in the rear axle. The MO motor runs off four AA batteries for about one hour duration using rechargeable cells. The constructional details…

]]>
Fri, 13 Aug 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Articulated Lorry https://selmec.org.uk/models/2533-articulated-lorry

This model is a continuation of my series of models from 2020 — this is the delayed Artic. The traction unit is based upon a 7½” module and uses a Highway Kit cab, which due to the complete glazing meant a different remote steering solution had to be…

]]>
Fri, 13 Aug 2021 00:00:00 GMT