South East London Meccano Club https://selmec.org.uk/ Our latest Meccano articles, event reports and models. en-gb Sun, 29 Mar 2020 12:02:33 GMT 60 Mignet Pou-De-Ciel https://selmec.org.uk/models/2365-mignet-pou-de-ciel

Another large scale model of a home-built French-built light plane known as a Pou-de-Ciel. Literally ‘Louse of the Skies’! This model has been ‘on the stocks’ for a long time but now with this enforced home lock down I have finished it. It features a…

]]>
Tue, 22 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Mug Holder https://selmec.org.uk/models/2366-mug-holder

My Mug Holder holds a plastic Keep Cup. A Gear Ring (part № 180) holds the bottom of the mug and a series of Stepped Curved Strips support the top. They’re joined by four Double Angle Strips. The handle is three 4½” Angle Girders bolted together. A small…

]]>
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Ballot Box https://selmec.org.uk/models/2370-ballot-box

Meant for the March 2020 meeting for depositing survey forms on the club’s future. COVID-19 put paid to that.

]]>
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Dunkin’ Mug https://selmec.org.uk/models/2372-dunkin-mug

This novelty mug holder incorporates a removable crane for dunking biscuits into tea.

]]>
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Solution to NZFMM Magazine Puzzle № 2 https://selmec.org.uk/models/2373-solution-to-nzfmm-magazine-puzzle-2

A puzzle was posed in the November 2019 issue (Vol. 43, № 4) as follows: “To describe a spur gear train using metal Meccano factory gears that will produce an output of 3.14 turns for an input of one revolution. Minimum acceptable level of precision is…

]]>
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Cup Holder https://selmec.org.uk/models/2374-cup-holder

]]>
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Earth, Moon and Sun Orrery https://selmec.org.uk/models/2375-earth-moon-and-sun-orrery

The Earth rotates 28 times while the Moon orbits the Earth once. The Earth rotates 360 times while the Earth orbits the Sun once. The Earth rotates 24 times for 1 rotation of the Sun. So the orrery is as accurate as it reasonably can be. The Earth is a…

]]>
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2376-crane

A return to a classic Meccano theme. The crane is hand-operated, for small hands, for when the current COVID-19 precautions are lifted and they are allowed to visit again! I used nylon fishing twine to string the crane, not having any strong thread to…

]]>
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Cup Holder https://selmec.org.uk/models/2377-cup-holder

Tilt mechanism to facilitate drinking. Retractable cover. Can be fixed to any convenient surface (e.g. best dining room table) through holes in base, using suitable wood screws. When so fixed, can be used to permanently reserve seat (unusual…

]]>
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Forge Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2378-forge-crane

This is the 4th crane I have built from within the contents of the Spin Master tower crane set. It is a freelance forge crane with slew, bucket hoist and traverse functions. The set itself could do with some wheels and additional gears to increase its…

]]>
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Mug Holder https://selmec.org.uk/models/2379-mug-holder

My mug holder uses parts from the 20 model helicopter set from Spin Master plus wheels from the 5 model motorcycle set, and is meant to represent a vintage water bowser. The mug holds a pint, so it’s perfect for beer! I have included anti-tip devices…

]]>
Sat, 28 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Racing Obstacle Game https://selmec.org.uk/models/2367-racing-obstacle-game

A racing game intended for the October 2020 exhibition. Your car needs to avoid obstacles on a moving track.

]]>
Fri, 27 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Compact One Direction Mechanism https://selmec.org.uk/models/2371-compact-one-direction-mechanism

Uses Robin Schoolar ratchet mechanisms to be as compact as possible. Output only goes one way regardless of input direction.

]]>
Fri, 27 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Mini Moke https://selmec.org.uk/models/2364-mini-moke

Large scale model of the ‘Military Mini’ complete with front wheel drive and steering. Incomplete but I was planning to bring it to the March 2020 meeting.

]]>
Sun, 22 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
January 2020 Meeting https://selmec.org.uk/events/january-2020-meeting

This was one of our informal quarterly meetings where our members showed off their latest Meccano creations.

]]>
Mon, 16 Mar 2020 11:23:14 GMT
Daleks in Meccano https://selmec.org.uk/articles/78-daleks-in-meccano

Doctor Who fan Chris Warrell showcases a variety of Dalek models that have been built with Meccano over the years, including his own set of four.

]]>
Sun, 01 Mar 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Manitowac Crawler Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2380-manitowac-crawler-crane

With this enforced isolation nonsense, the model has progressed quite well. I finally fitted the larger motors to the track frames, put the tracks on and as luck would have it, it seems to work.

]]>
Sun, 23 Feb 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Cup Holder https://selmec.org.uk/models/2369-cup-holder

Simple cup holder design mainly based on rods.

]]>
Sat, 22 Feb 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Dancing Men https://selmec.org.uk/models/2363-dancing-men

]]>
Tue, 11 Feb 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Galacticus Fairground Ride https://selmec.org.uk/models/2362-galacticus-fairground-ride

I was set about unloading my latest Meccano model called the Paddle Screamer from my car having just got home from the first meeting of 2020 at the South East London Meccano club, when I was caught thinking how many recent designs of my models were…

]]>
Sun, 02 Feb 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Two Horse Race https://selmec.org.uk/models/2336-two-horse-race

This is a two-player racing game I am working on. Each player will have a handle to turn in order to be the first to reach the end of the track. At the end lamps (or LEDs) will indicate the winner and the horses will automatically return to the start of…

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Junior Hacksaw https://selmec.org.uk/models/2337-junior-hacksaw

Built from curved strips and a rack strip.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Concrete Mixer Lorry https://selmec.org.uk/models/2338-concrete-mixer-lorry

With the slowly turning mixer, this lorry is a good model for model shows. However this is not a common model in Meccano, probably because there are a few problems to solve: The conical shape of the mixer is difficult to make with Meccano parts. The…

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
One Direction Mechanism https://selmec.org.uk/models/2339-one-direction-mechanism

In this mechanism the output shaft always turns in the same direction, regardless of how the input shaft is turned. This is accomplished using ratchets and pawls.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
One Direction Mechanism https://selmec.org.uk/models/2340-one-direction-mechanism

In this mechanism the output shaft always turns in the same direction, regardless of how the input shaft is turned. This is accomplished using ratchets and pawls.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Table Numbers https://selmec.org.uk/models/2341-table-numbers

These number ‘cards’ were used at a quiz night to mark the tables.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Ferris Wheel https://selmec.org.uk/models/2342-ferris-wheel

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Car Transporter Lorry https://selmec.org.uk/models/2343-car-transporter-lorry

Based on a model from the № 9 set manual, but with several alterations. In the last four photos it is under construction. The model was finished in March 2020 and has six cars — three on the top ramp and three on the bottom ramp. The car is based on the…

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
WWI Field Gun https://selmec.org.uk/models/2344-wwi-field-gun

A generic model, not based on any particular type of gun, but showing the heavy basic construction of the real thing.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Soapbox Cart https://selmec.org.uk/models/2345-soapbox-cart

A model that doesn’t need a motor! I don’t know who made the parts I’ve used for the mudguards and the seat — they certainly aren’t Meccano!

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
‘Mini’ Hungerford Bridge https://selmec.org.uk/models/2346--mini-hungerford-bridge

The nine span Hungerford Bridge carries the five track railway over the River Thames on the approach to Charing Cross station in London, and was designed by Sir John Hawkshaw in 1864. My model just hints at the bridge, being too short and not wide enough!

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Swing Bridge https://selmec.org.uk/models/2347-swing-bridge

Inspired by manual model № 152.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
6-Inch Howitzer Limber and Tractor https://selmec.org.uk/models/2348-6-inch-howitzer-limber-and-tractor

Model № 6.47 from a 1930 Super Model Leaflet.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Windmill https://selmec.org.uk/models/2349-windmill

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Vintage Tractor https://selmec.org.uk/models/2350-vintage-tractor

This tractor’s steering uses peg wheels and lots of trunnions! Built using long bolts and set screws.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Robots https://selmec.org.uk/models/2351-robots

Two robots built from modern set parts.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Buggy https://selmec.org.uk/models/2352-buggy

From a modern set.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Delta Wing Aeroplane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2353-delta-wing-aeroplane

From a № 5 set with a few extra bolts and different undercarriage.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Series I Land Rover https://selmec.org.uk/models/2354-series-i-land-rover

Driven by a Magic Motor.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Ruston Proctor 1841 Steam Navvy https://selmec.org.uk/models/2355-ruston-proctor-1841-steam-navvy

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
GWR Panier Tank Locomotive and Well Wagon https://selmec.org.uk/models/2356-gwr-panier-tank-locomotive-and-well-wagon

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Sprinters https://selmec.org.uk/models/2357-sprinters

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Bugatti Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2358-bugatti-car

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Clock № 2 https://selmec.org.uk/models/2359-clock-2

This chiming clock is not from a kit, and sits on its own stand. I have used Meccano chain instead of cord, but the problem with it is that the escape wheel is off-centre by ½ mm; otherwise the method is demonstrated quite well.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Winding Drum Mechanism for Container Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2360-winding-drum-mechanism-for-container-crane

Work in progress.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Hyperbola Clock https://selmec.org.uk/models/2361-hyperbola-clock

This clock takes advantage of the fact that if you place a diagonal line on a rotating base, it’ll trace out a hyperbola shape in 3D.

]]>
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 00:00:00 GMT