South East London Meccano Club https://selmec.org.uk/ Our latest Meccano articles, event reports and models. en-gb Wed, 18 May 2022 03:28:43 GMT 60 Super Truck https://selmec.org.uk/models/2607-super-truck

This model is from the Spin Master rebranded Super Truck set, originally marketed as the Off-road Rally set, and has a new colour scheme — orange and white instead of blue and black. The model builds satisfactorily.

]]>
Sat, 14 May 2022 00:00:00 GMT
The Allwyrm Limited Slip Differential https://selmec.org.uk/articles/122-the-allwyrm-limited-slip-differential

An improved Torsen T1 differential invented by Alan Wenbourne.

]]>
Sun, 01 May 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Racing Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2606-racing-car

This model uses the chrome base of the 2010 Turbo Set 2350A, and parts from other sources, including the wheels which come from a 2022 set. The chrome base is lengthened — see models Turbo 3350A and B of the same series.

]]>
Tue, 19 Apr 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Racing Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2603-racing-car

This model is one of the Turbo Starter range (2010 Turbo Set 2350A), and builds well. I have built it in two colour schemes.

]]>
Tue, 12 Apr 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Buggy https://selmec.org.uk/models/2604-buggy

This model is one of the alternative models shown in the Artic Dump Truck set manual of 2013, and is a well built model.

]]>
Tue, 12 Apr 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Steam Wagon https://selmec.org.uk/models/2605-steam-wagon

This model is based upon the manual one of 1928, rebuilt with modifications — namely an E15R electric motor (see underside view). The bodywork has been converted to flexible plate construction, instead of the braced girders that the 1928 one used. The…

]]>
Tue, 12 Apr 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Triple Differential Drive Steer Transmission https://selmec.org.uk/articles/121-triple-differential-drive-steer-transmission

Alan Wenbourne describes his model of the Merritt-Brown TN.12 transmission, as used in the Churchill, Centaur, Cromwell and Comet battle tanks.

]]>
Thu, 24 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
March 2022 Meeting https://selmec.org.uk/events/march-2022-meeting

]]>
Sun, 20 Mar 2022 14:09:00 GMT
Pump — ‘Going Large’ https://selmec.org.uk/models/2584-pump-going-large-

If you have ever gone into a certain fast-food eatery, you’ll know that at a certain point in the ordering process you’ll be asked if you want to ‘go large’ — an invitation to have a bigger helping for a modest surcharge. This is my version of that…

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
‘Beat the Goalie’ Game https://selmec.org.uk/models/2585--beat-the-goalie-game

In this simple game the player moves the striker left and right, and pulls back on the plunger to strike the ball towards the goal. The goalie is constantly moving in front of the goalposts trying to block the ball, but he is actually quite easy to beat!

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Table Football Game https://selmec.org.uk/models/2586-table-football-game

A mini version of the game with fewer players — only four a side!

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Footballer https://selmec.org.uk/models/2587-footballer

A footballer with a ball that came out of a Christmas cracker.

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Car Carrier Trailer https://selmec.org.uk/models/2588-car-carrier-trailer

A manually-operated dual-deck trailer which can hold four cars, shown here paired with my car transporter lorry.

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Racing Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2589-racing-car

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Dennis Fire Engine https://selmec.org.uk/models/2590-dennis-fire-engine

A 1916 Dennis fire engine modelled in 1960s red and 1970s silver parts. It is powered by a Meccano E6 6V AC motor and features a forward and reverse gearbox, transmission, brake, and chain final drive.

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
H-Gate Gearbox https://selmec.org.uk/models/2591-h-gate-gearbox

A four speed gate-change gearbox featured in the June 1968 issue of Meccano Magazine.

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Subbuteo Table Football Game https://selmec.org.uk/models/2592-subbuteo-table-football-game

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Triple Differential Drive Steer Transmission https://selmec.org.uk/models/2593-triple-differential-drive-steer-transmission

This model of a triple differential Merritt-Brown TN.12 transmission was inspired by Luka Kralj’s model, in an effort to help him overcome some construction issues that he was experiencing. It is used in the Churchill, Centaur, Cromwell and Comet battle…

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Steering Mechanism https://selmec.org.uk/models/2594-steering-mechanism

This is a demonstration of the steering mechanism used in my car transporter lorry model.

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Linesman https://selmec.org.uk/models/2595-linesman

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Planing Machine https://selmec.org.uk/models/2596-planing-machine

A model from the December 1940 issue of Meccano Magazine, powered by a 6V motor. The cutting head is moved by screwed rods in both the Y and Z dimensions.

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Chelsea Versus Norwich City Football Match https://selmec.org.uk/models/2597-chelsea-versus-norwich-city-football-match

My model depicts the winning goal in the match between Chelsea and Norwich City (Norwich City won 1–0) and also celebrates the 100th anniversary of the BBC.

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Planetary Gearbox https://selmec.org.uk/models/2598-planetary-gearbox

A four-speed/neutral/reverse planetary gearbox from the 1935 standard mechanisms manual.

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Single Cylinder Steam Engine https://selmec.org.uk/models/2599-single-cylinder-steam-engine

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Buggies https://selmec.org.uk/models/2600-buggies

Three different buggies made from Ducati motorcycle set and off-road set parts. One has a bevel differential made from modern plastic bevels and tri-axles.

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Differential Mechanism https://selmec.org.uk/models/2601-differential-mechanism

A differential mechanism to operate when driven directly by a connecting rod, in, for example a single cylinder steam or internal combustion engine. Its possible uses must be very limited, but was just an exercise to see if it could be achieved, and two…

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
The Paradox Fairground Ride https://selmec.org.uk/models/2602-the-paradox-fairground-ride

After the so many years of making Meccano models you’d think that the creative thinking process might be straightforward enough by now, but instead the opposite is true! In fact, the conflict is magnified even more by my passion in basing many of my…

]]>
Sat, 19 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Racing Obstacle Game https://selmec.org.uk/articles/119-racing-obstacle-game

Avoid obstacles as you steer your accelerating car along a moving track in Brian Leach’s game of skill!

]]>
Tue, 01 Mar 2022 00:00:00 GMT
Sentinel Y1 0–4–0 VBT Shunting Engine https://selmec.org.uk/models/2583-sentinel-y1-0-4-0-vbt-shunting-engine

Sentinel (of steam lorry fame), turned their hand to small railway locomotives in the late 1940s. These used the same boiler as their steam lorries and were very successful. My model depicts their Y1 0–4–0 VBT loco. It is driven by a geared motor hidden…

]]>
Mon, 28 Feb 2022 00:00:00 GMT