South East London Meccano Club https://selmec.org.uk/ Our latest Meccano articles, event reports and models. en-gb Tue, 26 Jan 2021 14:02:29 GMT 60 Children’s Seesaw https://selmec.org.uk/models/2479-children-s-seesaw

Uses 14 of Part № 2, 5½” strip, and 12 of Part № 126, angle trunnion.

]]>
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Stepladder https://selmec.org.uk/models/2480-stepladder

Uses 8 of Part № 2, 5½” strip, and 10 of Part № 48a, 2½” × ½” double angle strip. It does fold up, like the real thing, but proved a little too small for taking the Christmas decorations down.

]]>
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Windmill https://selmec.org.uk/models/2481-windmill

Uses 10 of Part № 54, 4½” flanged sector plate, and 16 of Part № 214, 2½” semi-circular plate.

]]>
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Half-Track https://selmec.org.uk/models/2482-half-track

“Never act with animals or children.” “Or,” I could add, “with classic military vehicles.” I can’t watch Richard Burton in Raid on Rommel, going round in circles feigning near-death from exhaustion, without taking more notice of what he’s riding in. It’s…

]]>
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Ferociousness Fairground Ride https://selmec.org.uk/models/2483-ferociousness-fairground-ride

This is a re-imagining of my Ferocity model, which was originally built in 2018 and was an original concept idea for a fairground ride at an amusement park. That structure consisted of a large rotating arm supporting a boat at one end for the riders,…

]]>
Sun, 24 Jan 2021 00:00:00 GMT
January 2021 Virtual Meeting https://selmec.org.uk/events/january-2021-virtual-meeting

]]>
Sat, 16 Jan 2021 15:05:17 GMT
Dockside Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2472-dockside-crane

This is a dockside crane with a motorised ‘crab’ and lift. The main challenge was the large rotating bearing, because I don’t have the Meccano geared roller bearing. I settled for twelve small flanged wheels running on a circle made from carefully curved…

]]>
Sat, 09 Jan 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Rogue-Bot https://selmec.org.uk/models/2473-rogue-bot

This model is based on the Robot Man from the № 10 set Special Model Leaflet 10.27, but which originally came from the discontinued № 9 set. My model has a number of changes, the main one being that I have created a large hole in his chest, but filled in…

]]>
Sat, 09 Jan 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Lorry https://selmec.org.uk/models/2474-lorry

A six-wheel lorry that steers via the long rod underneath the chassis, as the cab does not have access to remotely steer this model. The constructional details closely follow those of my earlier models that use the prefabricated cab.

]]>
Sat, 09 Jan 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Tractor Unit and Half Trailer Tank https://selmec.org.uk/models/2475-tractor-unit-and-half-trailer-tank

Based on the model from the № 9 set manual, but with several alterations.

]]>
Sat, 09 Jan 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Crimson Crusader Galleon https://selmec.org.uk/models/2476-the-crimson-crusader-galleon

It’s a very rare thing to find much spare time in the Christmas period, but with all the COVID-19 lockdowns in 2020, excess time seems like it’s always coming. To fill the extra time on my hands I turned once again to my Meccano hobby. It was early on…

]]>
Sat, 09 Jan 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Diabolo Player https://selmec.org.uk/models/2477-the-diabolo-player

This model is based on the Diabolo Juggler designed by Bernard Périer which is featured in the December 2020 issue of Constructor Quarterly. I have made several changes since I do not own the exact same parts as Bernard used, and I have also powered the…

]]>
Sat, 09 Jan 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Kübelwagen https://selmec.org.uk/models/2478-k-belwagen

A military vehicle, first made in 1923 and designed by Ferdinand Porsche. A rough translation is ‘bucket car’. It was a bit fiddly to build but does have working steering. I didn’t use plates so as to give it a more metallic look. The doors are…

]]>
Sat, 09 Jan 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Hainault Hangout Online 2020 https://selmec.org.uk/events/the-hainault-hangout-online-2020

With both the North and South East London Meccano Club exhibitions cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic, the clubs teamed up to take the NELMC Hainault Hangout online.

]]>
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 14:30:08 GMT
Land Rover https://selmec.org.uk/models/2471-land-rover

]]>
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Trailer https://selmec.org.uk/models/2470-trailer

This is a trailer of my own design, intended to represent the sort of home-built 1920s trailer my old tractor would have probably towed. It even has leaf springs!

]]>
Wed, 16 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Fordson Tractor https://selmec.org.uk/models/2469-fordson-tractor

A 1920s paraffin-burning Fordson tractor. I have also made a trailer for it.

]]>
Thu, 10 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
The Demonizer Fairground Ride https://selmec.org.uk/models/2458-the-demonizer-fairground-ride

For as many Allen bolts or nuts that I have it seems there aren’t ever quite enough and so another one of my Meccano models was sacrificed and dismantle to harvest the parts. I choose a fairground ride I called The Tormentor MK II, which I was…

]]>
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
BT Tower https://selmec.org.uk/models/2459-bt-tower

Previously known as a the Post Office Tower.

]]>
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Four Station Roundabout Fairground Ride https://selmec.org.uk/models/2460-four-station-roundabout-fairground-ride

This model is based upon a 12½” square base, with the mechanism built upon this. It is powered by a Dave Taylor-supplied electric motor driving reduction gearing to two motions. The first motion rotates the roundabout about the central column turning the…

]]>
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Box Van https://selmec.org.uk/models/2461-box-van

This box van with an opening door uses the pre-fabricated cab of the Mulikit series, and uses the steering system used in some of my earlier models; a long rod under the chassis as shown, to a 3:1 bevel pair 30a, 30c, this moves the steering gear.

]]>
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Sussex Post Mill https://selmec.org.uk/models/2462-sussex-post-mill

]]>
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Steam Tug “Hercules” https://selmec.org.uk/models/2463-steam-tug-hercules-

]]>
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Lorry https://selmec.org.uk/models/2465-lorry

]]>
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Engine Hoist with V8 Engine https://selmec.org.uk/models/2466-engine-hoist-with-v8-engine

]]>
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Ball Mill https://selmec.org.uk/models/2467-ball-mill

]]>
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Coles Mobile Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2468-coles-mobile-crane

]]>
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
The Ultimate Meccano Storage System? https://selmec.org.uk/articles/91-the-ultimate-meccano-storage-system-

Alan Wenbourne describes his multi-drawer metal filing cabinet storage system.

]]>
Tue, 01 Dec 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Motor RPM Checker https://selmec.org.uk/models/2457-motor-rpm-checker

Here is my small device for checking the RPM of Meccano motors. The photos show an E20R attached to the device, which is based on the Standard Mechanisms S. M.40 (USA edition). It provides a basic 243:1 ratio on just two shafts, which I have increased to…

]]>
Mon, 23 Nov 2020 00:00:00 GMT