South East London Meccano Club https://selmec.org.uk/ Our latest Meccano articles, event reports and models. en-gb Tue, 29 Sep 2020 16:51:20 GMT 60 Crawler Tractor https://selmec.org.uk/models/2440-crawler-tractor

This type of crawler tractor is used by the Royal Engineers Regiment. The model was designed by Bill Charleson and was described in the October 2015 issue of the Sheffield Meccano Guild Journal.

]]>
Mon, 21 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Cartwright’s Straight Line Mechanism https://selmec.org.uk/models/2449-cartwright-s-straight-line-mechanism

This model comes courtesy of Dick Watson of the North West Meccano Guild, and has been rebuilt by myself with modifications, as I do not have some of the parts he used in stock. The model is of Cartwright’s Straight Line Mechanism for converting the…

]]>
Fri, 18 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
September 2020 Meeting https://selmec.org.uk/events/september-2020-meeting

This was one of our informal quarterly meetings where our members showed off their latest Meccano creations.

]]>
Wed, 16 Sep 2020 16:24:15 GMT
CLASP Railway Station https://selmec.org.uk/models/2433-clasp-railway-station

CLASP (Consortium of Local Authorities Special Programme) was a prefabricated, light-gauge steel building system introduced in 1957 as a system to rebuild schools in Nottinghamshire. British Rail used the system to rebuild stations in the 1960s and…

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Differential Drive Experiment https://selmec.org.uk/models/2434-differential-drive-experiment

An experimental mechanism for use in a future Meccanograph.

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Sardine Can https://selmec.org.uk/models/2435-sardine-can

A symbol of rush-hour rail travel!

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
World Map https://selmec.org.uk/models/2436-world-map

The scale is 1:250 million — this is the third time I have entered a model for the Geoff Carter Cup that is remarkable because of its scale, and this time it won!

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Dancing Figures https://selmec.org.uk/models/2437-dancing-figures

Two figures, one male, one female, dancing on a rotating plinth. The plinth is made with several gears. This model contains two parts that I have never previously used: Cone pulley Drive bands with Meccano cogs

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Girder Bridge and Diesel Locomotive https://selmec.org.uk/models/2438-girder-bridge-and-diesel-locomotive

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Willys / Ford US Army Jeep https://selmec.org.uk/models/2439-willys-ford-us-army-jeep

This is a model of the ¼ ton, 4×4 Command Reconnaissance trucks used by the US Army in World War II.

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
British Railways Scammell Scarab Mechanical Horse https://selmec.org.uk/models/2441-british-railways-scammell-scarab-mechanical-horse

Three ton and six ton versions of this vehicle were produced by Scammell between between 1948 and 1967 in red and cream livery for British Railways. Towards the end of their time in use the livery changed to Railfreight yellow. In the 1970s I worked at…

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Wheel Loader https://selmec.org.uk/models/2442-wheel-loader

This model, which is under construction, is not based on any particular prototype, as I want to try out my own crazy ideas, and be free to borrow features from any prototype that catches my fancy. At last it has limit switches to shut off lift motors at…

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Nunhead Signal Box https://selmec.org.uk/models/2443-nunhead-signal-box

This model has a few working levers which have been motorised. The box went out of service in 1982.

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
AEC Mammoth Major Drop Well 8 Wheeler Chassis https://selmec.org.uk/models/2444-aec-mammoth-major-drop-well-8-wheeler-chassis

Work in progress.

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
One Direction Differential Mechanism https://selmec.org.uk/models/2445-one-direction-differential-mechanism

Output always turns in the same direction. The differential either locks the cage, or the bevels. it is the most elegant of my one direction mechanisms.

]]>
Sat, 12 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
MG-T Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2447-mg-t-car

This model was originally designed by Bernard Perrier and was the subject of a Modelplan in issue 89 of Constructor Quarterly. There is another version of this model by Chris Fry as well. The model is easy to construct, and it has a steering mechanism…

]]>
Wed, 09 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Sports Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2448-sports-car

From the 1962 set 3 manual, but in 1970s colours. This is a very simple model to build of a typical, 1960s perhaps, sports car. Due its simplicity it has no steering or motor. It builds well straight from the manual.

]]>
Wed, 09 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
A Little More Mathematics for Meccano https://selmec.org.uk/articles/82-a-little-more-mathematics-for-meccano

Discover how to apply Ptolemy’s Theorem, which applies to quadrilaterals (shapes with four sides) that have all four corners lying on the same circle, to the building of a tapering tower with cross-bracing in your models with this guide by Richard Marsden.

]]>
Tue, 01 Sep 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Vertical Steam Engine https://selmec.org.uk/models/2430-vertical-steam-engine

This vertical steam engine is powered by a six-speed motor/gearbox, via a simple drive system. The model is modified from the one in the January 1946 issue of Meccano Magazine in that certain parts have been beefed up to make the model operate properly.…

]]>
Sat, 29 Aug 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Miniature Lorries https://selmec.org.uk/models/2431-miniature-lorries

Here are three models of miniature lorries built using mostly the 28mm tyres found in the Meccano system. They all share the same traction unit, shown in the first photo, which has six wheels — there is no steering or motor due to the size. Construction…

]]>
Sat, 29 Aug 2020 00:00:00 GMT
British Rail Totem https://selmec.org.uk/models/2432-british-rail-totem

This is the BR totem, the BR double arrow, in Meccano. The totem is built using white parts as is the real thing, and is set on blue plates forming a background.

]]>
Sat, 29 Aug 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Double Pole, Double Throw Switch https://selmec.org.uk/models/2446-double-pole-double-throw-switch

A switch that was intended for the racing obstacle game play/reset. It was not reliable and was replaced by two EU 1072 switches.

]]>
Sun, 12 Jul 2020 00:00:00 GMT
Painting Frame https://selmec.org.uk/models/2426-painting-frame

This is a frame to hang parts for spray painting — laying the pieces flat for spraying had problems. I came across it on the New Zealand Meccano website. It works well, and the writer has a couple of fascinating insights into Binns Road paint defects.…

]]>
Sat, 04 Jul 2020 00:00:00 GMT