South East London Meccano Club https://selmec.org.uk/ Our latest Meccano articles, event reports and models. en-gb Thu, 20 Jun 2024 02:32:23 GMT 60 Crawler Tractor https://selmec.org.uk/models/2824-crawler-tractor

Based on a design by Bruce Geange which featured in an issue of the New Zealand Federation of Meccano Modellers Magazine.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
8 X 4 Lorry Chassis https://selmec.org.uk/models/2825-8-x-4-lorry-chassis

Featuring clutch, 8 speed and reverse gearbox, hub reduction gearing (see detail photos), and inter-axle differential.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Steering Demonstration Chassis https://selmec.org.uk/models/2826-steering-demonstration-chassis

A four-axle chassis built to demonstrate three different user-selectable steering modes — normal, crab and tight turn.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Scammell Contractor Lorry Chassis https://selmec.org.uk/models/2827-scammell-contractor-lorry-chassis

Featuring twin rear axles, 5:1 hub reduction gearing and lockable inter-axle differential.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Scammell Super Contructor Lorry https://selmec.org.uk/models/2828-scammell-super-contructor-lorry

Featuring a six speed and reverse gearbox and six wheel drive. Powered by an E20R motor.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Scammell Explorer Heavy Breakdown Tractor https://selmec.org.uk/models/2829-scammell-explorer-heavy-breakdown-tractor

Featuring a six speed gearbox and six wheel drive.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Elektrikit Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2830-elektrikit-crane

This crane is built using all Elektrikit parts bar the string, hook, nuts and bolts. Securing parts at right angles is a challenge, but using electromagnet cores works.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Clock Winding Mechanism https://selmec.org.uk/models/2831-clock-winding-mechanism

This epicyclic mechanism allows a clock to be wound while the clock mechanism is still powered. It was designed by Bert Love and was featured in the July 1968 issue of Meccano Magazine.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Traction Engine, Goods Van and Water Cart https://selmec.org.uk/models/2832-traction-engine-goods-van-and-water-cart

A Wilesco steam traction engine pulling a scratch-built goods van and Meccano water cart.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2833-crane

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
0–6–0 American Steam Locomotive https://selmec.org.uk/models/2834-0-6-0-american-steam-locomotive

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Lawnmower https://selmec.org.uk/models/2835-lawnmower

The blades rotate when the model is pushed along.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Block-Setting Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2836-block-setting-crane

With a boom over 5’ long, this model is the same size as the block-setting crane in the Super Model Leaflet (SML). Despite the iconic status of the crane in the SML, I have tried to improve the model with better proportions, simplifying it, and adding…

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Triple-Engined Bi-Plane Air Liner https://selmec.org.uk/models/2837-triple-engined-bi-plane-air-liner

Model № 7 from the 1930s Aeroplane Constructor № 2 set.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Steam Workshop https://selmec.org.uk/models/2838-steam-workshop

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Level-Luffing Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2839-level-luffing-crane

This model is built from parts in the 2015 Spin Master Meccano Tower Crane set. Jib hoist luff and slew motions are incorporated.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Citroën Garage https://selmec.org.uk/models/2840-citro-n-garage

A 1930s tinplate constructional building of a ‘Garage Citroën’, probably by the French company Compagnie Industrielle du Jouet (CIJ). It requires 100 tiny nuts and bolts to build. My model of the Golden Arrow is parked inside.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Potain Tower Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2841-potain-tower-crane

This model forms ModelPlan 272, by the late Michael Adler, and has three motors with gearbox, sourced from a New Zealand supplier who has ceased trading. The constructor has not been able to source the right motors and opted to convert the model to one…

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Austin K Series Auxiliary Towing Vehicle https://selmec.org.uk/models/2842-austin-k-series-auxiliary-towing-vehicle

This model forms part of ModelPlan 274, by George Illingworth and others, and represents a pre-war towing vehicle for trailer fire pumps of various types. I am using part of ModelPlan 266 for this. The model is complicated to build successfully. The…

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Trailer Pump Fire Engine https://selmec.org.uk/models/2843-trailer-pump-fire-engine

This trailer is part of ModelPlan 266, by George Illingworth and others, and represents a wartime fire pump towed by a truck. This model, on the whole, is reasonably simple to construct, but has some tricky areas. I have changed the construction a little…

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Articulated Lorry https://selmec.org.uk/models/2844-articulated-lorry

This model started life as a copy of a model in a 1950 issue of Meccano Magazine and was modified, as the constructor could not get the lorry cab structure to fit correctly. It is a nice model, worthy of building.

]]>
Sat, 15 Jun 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Blaw Knox ‘Super 12’ Motor Grader https://selmec.org.uk/articles/721-blaw-knox-super-12-motor-grader

This article from the July 1960 issue of Meccano Magazine gives an overview of the features and capabilities of the real-life ‘Super 12’ Grader and explains how Alan Wenbourne meticulously reproduced these features in his 1½ inch to 1 foot scale Meccano model.

]]>
Thu, 18 Apr 2024 00:00:00 GMT