South East London Meccano Club https://selmec.org.uk/ Our latest Meccano articles, event reports and models. en-gb Mon, 19 Apr 2021 09:13:16 GMT 60 Nile Barrage Lifting Bridge at Assuit https://selmec.org.uk/articles/99-nile-barrage-lifting-bridge-at-assuit

Alan Wenbourne builds a 1:40 scale working model of the lifting bridge at Assuit in Egypt, which forms part of the Nile barrage system.

]]>
Wed, 14 Apr 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Showman’s Traction Engine https://selmec.org.uk/models/2501-showman-s-traction-engine

]]>
Sun, 04 Apr 2021 00:00:00 GMT
March 2021 Virtual Meeting https://selmec.org.uk/events/march-2021-virtual-meeting

Due to the coronavirus pandemic this meeting was cancelled and was held ‘virtually’ online via Google Meet.

]]>
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 14:57:19 GMT
Children’s Seesaw https://selmec.org.uk/models/2479-children-s-seesaw

Uses 14 of Part № 2, 5½” strip, and 12 of Part № 126, angle trunnion.

]]>
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Stepladder https://selmec.org.uk/models/2480-stepladder

Uses 8 of Part № 2, 5½” strip, and 10 of Part № 48a, 2½” × ½” double angle strip. It does fold up, like the real thing, but proved a little too small for taking the Christmas decorations down.

]]>
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Windmill https://selmec.org.uk/models/2481-windmill

Uses 10 of Part № 54, 4½” flanged sector plate, and 16 of Part № 214, 2½” semi-circular plate.

]]>
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Half-Track https://selmec.org.uk/models/2482-half-track

“Never act with animals or children.” “Or,” I could add, “with classic military vehicles.” I can’t watch Richard Burton in Raid on Rommel, going round in circles feigning near-death from exhaustion, without taking more notice of what he’s riding in. It’s…

]]>
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Warren Girder https://selmec.org.uk/models/2500-warren-girder

This Warren Girder (or Warren Truss) is built up from a number of 2½” Strips (part № 5) and 2½” x ½” Double Angle Strips (part № 48a). Warren Girders generally have diagonal members between the top and bottom chords to give a series of isosceles…

]]>
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Space: 1999 Eagle Transporter https://selmec.org.uk/models/2499-space-1999-eagle-transporter

One of my favourite sci-fi programmes is Space: 1999 which was made in the early 1970s by Gerry and Sylvia Anderson. This is a model of the Eagle Transporter which was used on Moonbase Alpha in the programme. For this model l had to use many parts which…

]]>
Thu, 25 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Spider’s Web https://selmec.org.uk/models/2496-spider-s-web

Built using narrow Reverse Angle Brackets and 1¼” Strips.

]]>
Tue, 23 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Children’s Roundabout https://selmec.org.uk/models/2497-children-s-roundabout

]]>
Tue, 23 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Decorators Workbench https://selmec.org.uk/models/2498-decorators-workbench

This is built from 15 x 5½” Strips (part № 2) and 5 x 2½” Double Angle Strips (part № 48a), with nuts and bolts to complete.

]]>
Tue, 23 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Seafaring Swift Ship https://selmec.org.uk/models/2495-the-seafaring-swift-ship

Meccano is firmly entrenched as my main go-to in any free leisurely time and both fairgrounds and ship models have been among my favourite subjects to explore in my model making. I guess it’s no surprise that yet another ship model creation should appeal…

]]>
Sun, 21 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Ferris Wheel https://selmec.org.uk/models/2491-ferris-wheel

Parts are №. 5, 2½” Strip and № 12b, 1” by ½” Angle Bracket.

]]>
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Helicopter https://selmec.org.uk/models/2492-helicopter

Parts are № 126, Trunnion and № 6, 2” Strip (5 hole).

]]>
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Children’s Seesaw https://selmec.org.uk/models/2493-children-s-seesaw

Parts are № 5, 2” Strip and № 11, Double Bracket.

]]>
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Windmill https://selmec.org.uk/models/2494-windmill

Parts are № 126, Trunnion and № 3, 3½” Strip.

]]>
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Crane Lorry https://selmec.org.uk/models/2490-crane-lorry

A simple crane lorry, using the chassis with the prefabricated cab that I have used before. This one has the long rod-type steering mechanism (see underside view). A simple working crane is fixed to the rear and has a geared winch.

]]>
Wed, 17 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
South East and Chatham Railway Crane Tank Locomotive https://selmec.org.uk/models/2489-south-east-and-chatham-railway-crane-tank-locomotive

This is a (fairly) accurate representation of a South East and Chatham Railway Crane Tank Locomotive. Being outside the loading gauge they were usually seen in loco sheds or works yards being the steam equivalent of a fork lift truck. This model is fully…

]]>
Tue, 16 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Footbridge https://selmec.org.uk/models/2487-footbridge

A footbridge made from part number’s 2 and 48a (5½” strip and ½” x 2½” double angle bracket) in zinc.

]]>
Thu, 11 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Climbing Man https://selmec.org.uk/models/2486-climbing-man

This climbing man is attached to strings wound by a motor which bring him up and down, moving both arms and legs. The head is meant to be a plastic Meccano wheel, but I replaced it with the one shown and added a black sort of hat.

]]>
Tue, 09 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Story of My Hummer https://selmec.org.uk/articles/95-the-story-of-my-hummer

Alan Wenbourne describes the process of developing his 1:6 scale model Hummer vehicle, including his invention of an improved alternative design for a Torsen-type differential.

]]>
Wed, 03 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Digital Command Control for Meccano https://selmec.org.uk/articles/98-digital-command-control-for-meccano

Les Chatfield explains how this model railway system can be adapted to control Meccano models such as cranes — using just a single wire to control multiple motors!

]]>
Mon, 01 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Massey Ferguson 135 Tractor https://selmec.org.uk/models/2488-massey-ferguson-135-tractor

This Massey Ferguson 135 has a 6-speed forward and 2-speed reverse gearbox (based on an Alan Wenbourne design), working PTO 3 point linkage with adjusters on top link and lift arm (LH side), and working steering. It is made from light red and green plus…

]]>
Mon, 01 Mar 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Mini-Version London Eye https://selmec.org.uk/articles/94-mini-version-london-eye

Alan Wenbourne describes the construction of his dual-scale working model of the iconic London landmark.

]]>
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Cletrac Controlled Differential Steering System https://selmec.org.uk/articles/93-cletrac-controlled-differential-steering-system

Alan Wenbourne builds a model demonstrating the Cletrac Controlled Differential Steering System, or ‘a crawler with a steering wheel’.

]]>
Fri, 05 Feb 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Cletrac Tractor https://selmec.org.uk/models/2485-cletrac-tractor

A model demonstrating the Cletrac Controlled Differential Steering System, or ‘a crawler with a steering wheel’. Read an in-depth article about this model.

]]>
Fri, 05 Feb 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Dump Truck https://selmec.org.uk/models/2484-dump-truck

This model is the dump truck from the 1957 set № 6, and it is easy to build and works well. The steering mechanism shown in one of the pictures also works well. I have modified the rear wheels, the engine cover, and other small details.

]]>
Fri, 29 Jan 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Ferociousness Fairground Ride https://selmec.org.uk/models/2483-ferociousness-fairground-ride

This is a re-imagining of my Ferocity model, which was originally built in 2018 and was an original concept idea for a fairground ride at an amusement park. That structure consisted of a large rotating arm supporting a boat at one end for the riders,…

]]>
Sun, 24 Jan 2021 00:00:00 GMT