South East London Meccano Club https://selmec.org.uk/ Our latest Meccano articles, event reports and models. en-gb Thu, 05 Aug 2021 11:03:13 GMT 60 The Sky Scanner II Fairground Ride https://selmec.org.uk/models/2531-the-sky-scanner-ii-fairground-ride

I originally built this model in May 2021 and was ready for the SELMEC meeting on 12th June where it was displayed for the first time. It was not one of the biggest or best models that I have made, but it was fine to kill the time at home. This time…

]]>
Wed, 28 Jul 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Meccadrome https://selmec.org.uk/models/2530-the-meccadrome

I built a fairground model quite a while ago where four dancing men decorated the top of the model’s main entrance. It was only really an extra decorative feature and later, when the model was dismantled, I kept that part of it and adapted the dancers…

]]>
Tue, 20 Jul 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2529-crane

This model features three motions — slew, luffing the jib, and hoisting the load. It is driven by a Como Drills RS540 motor to gearing as shown in the photos. The jib is almost 2’ 6” long, and is made from girders, extended by 12½” strips and braced…

]]>
Wed, 07 Jul 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Golden Arrow Land Speed Record Car https://selmec.org.uk/articles/108-the-golden-arrow-land-speed-record-car

Frank Paine builds a 1:15 scale model of the ‘Irving-Napier Special’ racer which regained the world land speed record from the USA in March 1929 on Daytona Beach, Florida.

]]>
Fri, 02 Jul 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Stunt Plane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2527-stunt-plane

A recent Spinmaster model that makes a good representation of this type of plane. The set will build a second model that is equal to the first.

]]>
Thu, 24 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Off-Road Vehicle https://selmec.org.uk/models/2528-off-road-vehicle

This model is from a recent Spinmaster set with other models available in the manual and online via download from the Meccano website. The model shown here is totally new and uses parts from this set. The model features steering, front suspension and…

]]>
Thu, 24 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
June 2021 Meeting https://selmec.org.uk/events/june-2021-meeting

]]>
Sun, 13 Jun 2021 09:43:26 GMT
Swashplate https://selmec.org.uk/models/2505-swashplate

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Compact 3-Speed and Reverse Gearbox https://selmec.org.uk/models/2506-compact-3-speed-and-reverse-gearbox

From the April 1969 issue of Meccano Magazine, here is how to construct the original model: The framework is built up from two 5½” Angle Girders (1), to each of which two 3” x 1½” Flat Plates (2) are bolted, at the same time fixing a shaped 1½”. Wiper…

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Floater https://selmec.org.uk/models/2507-floater

This model came 3rd place in the Floating Models Secretary’s Challenge.

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Steeplechaser https://selmec.org.uk/models/2508-steeplechaser

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Offshore Floating Wind Turbine Platform https://selmec.org.uk/models/2509-offshore-floating-wind-turbine-platform

This model came 1st place in the Floating Models Secretary’s Challenge, but only floats without the turbine attached. Water will seep in, so eventually it does sink! The design is based on a photo of a real floating wind turbine platform.

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
0–6–0 Tank Locomotive https://selmec.org.uk/models/2510-0-6-0-tank-locomotive

This model is just over 3’ long and 9½” wide. The scale is about 1:10, so the model is unusually large for a Meccano locomotive. The model is not based on a specific class of locomotive.

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Hammerhead Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2511-hammerhead-crane

A crane built from Eitech Construction parts. It includes a motor and gearbox driving the hoist and trolley.

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Six-Legged Walker https://selmec.org.uk/models/2512-six-legged-walker

This model is built from the ‘Motorised Movers’ sets and I am really taken with it. It went together easily, has an ingenious, elegant and economical mechanism, and the walking action is a joy to watch. Some criticisms though: Fitting the batteries is…

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Off-Roaders https://selmec.org.uk/models/2513-off-roaders

These two models have a lot of features in common, but they are not at all appealing. One is four wheel drive, but has no steering. The other has steering, but only two wheel drive. Construction is unnecessarily tricky to get working well.

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Butchers Van https://selmec.org.uk/models/2514-butchers-van

A model of Jack Jones’ butchers van, as seen in the BBC TV series Dad’s Army. It is powered by a 6–12V electric motor driving a 2-speed gearbox via a shaft to a live differential. The van body is in blue and white (from the Space sets), with black…

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Sky Scanner Fairground Ride https://selmec.org.uk/models/2515-the-sky-scanner-fairground-ride

With the month of May 2021 being as wet as it has been I can’t have been the only one at my window searching the skies for signs of better weather, but I spent the rainy days making a brand-new model. I started the month reluctantly dismantling the…

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Floater https://selmec.org.uk/models/2516-floater

This model came 2nd place in the Floating Models Secretary’s Challenge.

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
40’ Flatbed Trailer https://selmec.org.uk/models/2517-40-flatbed-trailer

Built to a scale of 10.4:1.

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Kingsferry Bridge https://selmec.org.uk/models/2518-kingsferry-bridge

This is a work-in-progress model of the Kingsferry Lifting Bridge which connects the Isle of Sheppey to mainland Kent in South East England. There is currently one pier on show plus a lifting section with a two-lane road and a railway track. A sequencer…

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Spitfire Aeroplane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2519-spitfire-aeroplane

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Sports Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2520-sports-car

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Skip https://selmec.org.uk/models/2521-skip

This model came 4th place in the Floating Models Secretary’s Challenge.

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Fire Engine https://selmec.org.uk/models/2522-fire-engine

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Golden Arrow Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2523-the-golden-arrow-car

Read an in-depth article about this model. This model, built as a tribute to John Cowdery, is of the ‘Golden Arrow’ car which was driven by Henry Segrave when he broke the World Land Speed Record for Britain on Daytona Beach, Florida, USA in March 1929.…

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Volkswagen Type 82 Kübelwagen https://selmec.org.uk/models/2524-volkswagen-type-82-k-belwagen

The Volkswagen Kübelwagen — ‘bucket’ or ‘cube’ car because of its simple bodywork — was the closest vehicle the Wehrmacht had to the US-built Jeep during World War II.

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
LOHR FL500 and FL501 Troop Transport https://selmec.org.uk/models/2525-lohr-fl500-and-fl501-troop-transport

The LOHR FL500 and FL501 was designed by Victor Bouffort and developed by the French SOFRAMAG company, later to become LOHR. It was designed to provide a lightweight, air-portable vehicle for airborne troops.

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Sliding Bed Car Recovery Truck https://selmec.org.uk/models/2526-sliding-bed-car-recovery-truck

A modified and improved version of a model designed by Tony James which is described in Model Plan 159.

]]>
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Theory of Meccano Gears: Part 3 — Bevel Gears https://selmec.org.uk/articles/107-the-theory-of-meccano-gears-part-3-bevel-gears

Alan Wenbourne presents and shares his experience and understanding of Meccano gears in this series of articles. In this part he applies gear theory and practice to the Meccano bevel gears, parts 30, 30a and 30c.

]]>
Tue, 08 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Theory of Meccano Gears: Part 2 — Helical Gears https://selmec.org.uk/articles/106-the-theory-of-meccano-gears-part-2-helical-gears

Alan Wenbourne presents and shares his experience and understanding of Meccano gears in this series of articles. In this part he applies gear theory and practice to the Meccano helical gears, parts 211a and 211b, and also discusses the design of Exacto helical gears.

]]>
Mon, 07 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
The Theory of Meccano Gears: Part 1 — Spur Gears https://selmec.org.uk/articles/105-the-theory-of-meccano-gears-part-1-spur-gears

Alan Wenbourne presents and shares his experience and understanding of Meccano gears in this series of articles, starting with the basics in applying gear theory and practice to the Meccano range of spur gears.

]]>
Fri, 04 Jun 2021 00:00:00 GMT
M4 High-Speed Tractor https://selmec.org.uk/articles/104-m4-high-speed-tractor

A 1:15 scale model of an Allis-Chalmers M4 HST (High Speed Tractor) double differential steered tracked vehicle built by Alan Wenbourne.

]]>
Sun, 23 May 2021 00:00:00 GMT
Patiala State Monorail Train https://selmec.org.uk/models/2504-patiala-state-monorail-train

This is a model of the Indian Patiala State steam monorail train which ran for 60 years between Patiala and Sunam. The single rail was laid alongside roadways so that the wheel could run on it; however, the rail wheels take 90% of the locomotive’s weight.

]]>
Sun, 23 May 2021 00:00:00 GMT