South East London Meccano Club https://selmec.org.uk/ Our latest Meccano articles, event reports and models. en-gb Tue, 05 Mar 2024 09:37:04 GMT 60 Baron of the Big Blue https://selmec.org.uk/models/2807-baron-of-the-big-blue

In making a new ship for January 2024 I decided that something about it would have to be different. In previous such models where and if I had included cannons aboard, I had done so on upper and lower decks but always one immediately above the other…

]]>
Fri, 01 Mar 2024 00:00:00 GMT
January 2024 Meeting https://selmec.org.uk/events/january-2024-meeting

]]>
Fri, 23 Feb 2024 10:45:33 GMT
Snow Shovel https://selmec.org.uk/models/2792-snow-shovel

Built for the Weather Forecasting Secretary’s Challenge and inspired by the weather forecast for the third week of January 2024. This forecast proved pessimistic, for south-east London at least, so removing any possibility of posing the model in real…

]]>
Sat, 20 Jan 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Snow Shovel https://selmec.org.uk/models/2794-snow-shovel

]]>
Sat, 20 Jan 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Anemometer https://selmec.org.uk/models/2796-anemometer

Three conical discs form the ‘cups’ so it will only be pushed in one direction of rotation — anticlockwise. It would be nice to show wind speed, but creating a speedometer is another project! A high-speed Meccano fan provides the ‘wind’.

]]>
Sat, 20 Jan 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Oshkosh M1070 Heavy Equipment Transporter System (HETS) https://selmec.org.uk/models/2797-oshkosh-m1070-heavy-equipment-transporter-system-hets-

Work-in-progress military tank transporter tractor featuring: 8 wheel drive Front and rear axle steering 3 speed and reverse gearbox 2 speed transfer and differential (5 differentials) Simulated Hendrickson Turner air ride suspension (3 rear…

]]>
Sat, 20 Jan 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Double-Decker Bus https://selmec.org.uk/models/2798-double-decker-bus

From outfit № 6 with added steering and floors.

]]>
Sat, 20 Jan 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Weather Station https://selmec.org.uk/models/2799-weather-station

Unit for measuring the wind speed, rainfall and temperature for the weather forecast.

]]>
Sat, 20 Jan 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Weather Vane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2800-weather-vane

]]>
Sat, 20 Jan 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Weather Forecasting Satellite https://selmec.org.uk/models/2802-weather-forecasting-satellite

Not based on any particular type — more a suggestion of one based on an online search.

]]>
Sat, 20 Jan 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Wickham Trolley and Trailer https://selmec.org.uk/models/2803-wickham-trolley-and-trailer

A British Rail railway engineering personnel carrier built by D. Wickham & Co of Ware, Hertfordshire. This long established firm introduced their rail trolley in 1922 as a lightweight track inspection and maintenance vehicle. This was a success and…

]]>
Sat, 20 Jan 2024 00:00:00 GMT
The Eiffel Tower https://selmec.org.uk/models/2804-the-eiffel-tower

When the Eiffel Tower was built, at the top there was a weather station with extensive scientific equipment. The model is about 8’ tall and about 1” lower than the ceiling in my house. In my opinion, my model has more accurate proportions and details…

]]>
Sat, 20 Jan 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Tiny Dancer https://selmec.org.uk/models/2805-tiny-dancer

I have long owned a tiny little toy of a man dancing whose basic movements was driven from a winding motor and key, and I was suddenly inspired by the idea of trying to reproduce it in a Meccano form. The main aim I guess was trying to create a figure…

]]>
Sat, 20 Jan 2024 00:00:00 GMT
Cromer Simpson https://selmec.org.uk/models/2791-cromer-simpson

A Short Crab Story… There can be no greater incentive than a gauntlet thrown down betting that you can’t achieve something. This proved surprisingly true in the form of a throwaway comment by my wife on New Year’s Eve, challenging me to make a crab-like…

]]>
Sun, 31 Dec 2023 00:00:00 GMT
Rocket Man https://selmec.org.uk/models/2789-rocket-man

Looking back at 2023 I realised what a busy year it has been in terms of my Meccano model making pursuits with 19 new models, from which only one was a structured box set. All the other 18 were completely freelance models of my own design. That makes it…

]]>
Thu, 28 Dec 2023 00:00:00 GMT
Pliciosaurus https://selmec.org.uk/models/2790-pliciosaurus

After the glut of a Christmas dinner and a Boxing Day feast, sometimes you just need something a little bit different! The design and construction process of making Meccano models is just like that too, and it’s been a whole year of making endless models…

]]>
Thu, 28 Dec 2023 00:00:00 GMT
Fighter Plane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2787-fighter-plane

After a busy weekend at the North East London Meccano Club’s exhibition, the last one of the year, when Monday morning came I got straight back to my Meccano activities. Having achieved the building of 18 models so far in 2023, I was wondering if I could…

]]>
Fri, 08 Dec 2023 00:00:00 GMT
The Intimidator Fairground Ride https://selmec.org.uk/models/2788-the-intimidator-fairground-ride

2023 has been a very busy year in my Meccano activities with the building of 17 models so far, but I am still hoping to cram in a couple of models more. On Monday 20th November I started with this latest one, a fairground contraption which had come to my…

]]>
Fri, 08 Dec 2023 00:00:00 GMT