South East London Meccano Club https://selmec.org.uk/ Our latest Meccano articles, event reports and models. en-gb Sat, 21 Sep 2019 10:15:12 GMT 60 September 2019 Meeting https://selmec.org.uk/events/september-2019-meeting

This was one of our informal quarterly meetings where our members showed off their latest Meccano creations.

]]>
Mon, 09 Sep 2019 21:35:24 GMT
The Eiffel Tower https://selmec.org.uk/models/2314-the-eiffel-tower

This model is over 5’ tall; hence the scale is about 1:200. Although smaller than the Eiffel Tower in the set 10 instructions, my model has proportions and details that are more accurate. The model splits into three parts for ease of transportation.

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Poppy https://selmec.org.uk/models/2315-poppy

Made from a conical disc, so is the correct colour, size and shape. To remember the thousands of brave men who died on D-Day.

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Waco CG-4A Glider https://selmec.org.uk/models/2316-waco-cg-4a-glider

The Waco CG-4A glider was used in several Allied WWII landings, including D-Day. Made from fabric-covered wood and metal, they could carry 13 troops or a small military vehicle such as a jeep or a light gun and its crew. Towed to altitude by a transport…

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Vought V-173 “Flying Pancake” Aeroplane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2317-vought-v-173-flying-pancake-aeroplane

An American experimental test aircraft built as part of the Vought XF5U “Flying Flapjack” United States Navy fighter aircraft program during World War II. Both the V-173 and the XF5U featured an unorthodox ‘all-wing’ design consisting of flat, somewhat…

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Battle Cruiser https://selmec.org.uk/models/2318-battle-cruiser

Based on model 3.15 from the 1940–41 № 3 set originally in the blue/gold colour scheme. This model was built closely to the instructions, but now in a grey/cream livery for the D-Day Secretary’s Challenge.

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Marionette Music Box https://selmec.org.uk/models/2319-marionette-music-box

A music box with no music, advancing on the marionette idea, and once again using my reversing mechanism. Six triangular plates pan out to reveal the marionette, which moves up and down and also twirls.

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Normandy American Cemetery https://selmec.org.uk/models/2320-normandy-american-cemetery

A shame I didn’t have any green plates.

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Ducati Desmosedici GP Motorcycle https://selmec.org.uk/models/2321-ducati-desmosedici-gp-motorcycle

This is a good kit and it goes together well.

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Boiler https://selmec.org.uk/models/2322-boiler

A boiler for my beam engine with an opening fire box.

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
The Panjandrum https://selmec.org.uk/models/2323-the-panjandrum

Panjandrum, also known as The Great Panjandrum, was a massive, rocket-propelled, explosive-laden wheel designed by the British military during WWII. It was one of a number of highly experimental projects, including Hajile and the Hedgehog that, were…

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Tukan Kangaroo Harbour Crane https://selmec.org.uk/models/2324-tukan-kangaroo-harbour-crane

My take on Greg Clarke’s Tukan Kangaroo Harbour Crane featured in Constructor Quarterly, in a eclectic mix of colours! On returning to Meccano after a 42 year absence I decided to build this model for many reasons. It has several features worth…

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Sports Car https://selmec.org.uk/models/2325-sports-car

With pull-back clockwork motor drive from a 2019 set.

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Bulldozer https://selmec.org.uk/models/2326-bulldozer

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Twin Rotor Helicopter https://selmec.org.uk/models/2327-twin-rotor-helicopter

From a 2019 set.

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Trench Digger https://selmec.org.uk/models/2328-trench-digger

One of the models from the Super Highway Mutlikit. The manual does not show how the arm and bucket lock when lifted.

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Tank Transporter and Tank https://selmec.org.uk/models/2329-tank-transporter-and-tank

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
The Jugger-Nauticus Ship https://selmec.org.uk/models/2330-the-jugger-nauticus-ship

Compared to the very many fairground themed models I have made over the years, I have made relatively very few boats though I have always loved ships of all sizes. In 2012 I built a small ship which was followed soon after by The Voyager in 2013 and…

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
The Great Panjandrum https://selmec.org.uk/models/2331-the-great-panjandrum The Giant Panjandrum was an unsuccessful attempt to build a rocket propelled wheel that would roar up the beach from landing craft over obstacles and wire to detonate against coastal gun emplacements threatening the beaches. It was never used being too…

]]>
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 00:00:00 GMT
Royal Greenwich Get Together 2019 https://selmec.org.uk/events/royal-greenwich-get-together-2019

]]>
Mon, 02 Sep 2019 11:04:24 GMT
Eltham Park Festival 2019 https://selmec.org.uk/events/eltham-park-festival-2019

]]>
Sat, 31 Aug 2019 13:43:17 GMT
Henwick Primary School Summer Fair 2019 https://selmec.org.uk/events/henwick-primary-school-summer-fair-2019

]]>
Sat, 17 Aug 2019 19:00:04 GMT
Cantilever Bearings https://selmec.org.uk/articles/72-cantilever-bearings

Les Chatfield describes his construction of a heavy-duty bearing, inspired by a Bert Love design, used to support heavy overhanging loads such as the arms of a fairground ride.

]]>
Thu, 01 Aug 2019 00:00:00 GMT
The Barracuda https://selmec.org.uk/articles/66-the-barracuda

One of a fleet of three ships built by Santiago Plicio for our Harbour Secretary’s Challenge.

]]>
Mon, 01 Jul 2019 00:00:00 GMT